Chip Ganassi Racing’s ‘Star Car’ Wins Rolex 24 at Daytona

Scott Dixon drove a gritty and long final leg to lead Chip Ganassi Racing and its "star car" to a record sixth victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona.


Ganassi beat defending race winner Action Express Racing, which was driven by Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien Bourdais, by 1.33 seconds.

Wayne Taylor Racing, runner-up the last two years, lost a shot to challenge Dixon when it realized under a caution with 20 minutes remaining that Jordan Taylor had exceeded his allotted time allowed in the car. He was forced to pit from second to let older brother Ricky Taylor close out the final 9 minutes of the race.

“It’s a bit disappointing, but we win and lose as a team,” said Taylor.

Ganassi’s other entry, the No. 01 led by five-time winner Scott Pruett, was in the mix for the victory until the clutch broke and the team was forced to retire with under two hours remaining.


Corvette Racing won the GT Le Mans class with drivers Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Ryan Briscoe.

PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports won the Prototype Challenge class with drivers Mike Guasch, Andrew Novich, Andrew Palmer and Tom Kimber-Smith. It appeared that CORE Autosport had that win locked up until Colin Braun’s fiery crash with roughly 20 minutes remaining brought out the final caution and ended what seemed an easy victory.


CORE Autosports owner Jon Bennett could only shrug.

“We did 23 hours and 46 minutes very successfully,” he said. “I think we had small contact with another car, which caused Colin to have a tire going down. We were trying to get back, we didn’t a splash of gas, anyway. That’s how racing is, I love it.”

The GT Daytona class was won by Riley Motorsports and drivers Ben Keating, Dominik Fambacher, Al Carter, Kuno Wittmer and Cameron Lawrence. Keating, who is a Dodge Viper car dealer and driver for the SRT team, choked back tears after the win.